frozen peanut butter pie

Some mornings I wake up, totally determined to go to the gym, do some pilates, head off to work wide awake and cheery, spend the day getting my fix of fruits and veggies, and head to bed early for a full night’s sleep. They are wonderful days, to be sure, mostly spent reading in between work and interning with a cup of iced coffee and a mind totally at peace, well-fueled and clear.

(It may seem uncanny, but I actually genuinely enjoy being healthy.)

And then other days I wake up, go to the gym, do some pilates, head off to work wide awake and cheery, get home, flip straight to the Euro Cup, bake a pie, and crash down onto the couch to watch the game with my feet on the table and a bowl of leftover peanut butter filling in hand. Fruits and veggies be damned.

Today was one of those days.

I mean, it is the summer after all. I can’t help it if being totally independent (i.e. distanced from the scrutinizing eyes of other human beings) doesn’t sometimes lead me to make poor amazing life choices. Like combining chocolate cookies and peanut butter to make a deliciously creamy pie.

Okay, I do have to be honest here, the pie wasn’t a totally random happenstance. I don’t typically elect to make a dessert that would comfortably feed a family of 8 solely for myself. The occasion was another one of the boys’ dinners. They’ve invited me over, yet again, for a meal, and as a small thank-you for consistently making sure I’m well-fed, I promised to provide dessert.

And after three years of dinner get-togethers and calc classes, I can safely say that chocolate and peanut butter are a sure win with them.

Frozen Peanut Butter Pie
Adapted from Food & Wine
Yields one 9-inch pie

Ingredients for the crust:

  • 2 cups finely processed chocolate wafer cookies (about 10 oz of cookies)
  • 1/2 stick butter
  • 4 oz semisweet chocolate

Ingredients for the filling:

  • 1 8-oz package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup peanut butter (either crunchy or smooth work)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1 cup cold heavy cream

Method:

Preheat oven to 375F and grease a 9-inch pie dish.

To prepare the crust, melt together chocolate chips and butter until smooth. Stir in the cookie crumbs and mix. Press the mixture evenly onto the bottom and sides of the prepared pie pan. Bake for about 8 mins, and then cool on a wire rack.

To prepare the filling, beat cream cheese, peanut butter, sugar, and vanilla on medium speed until creamy. In a separate bowl, whip heavy cream until firm. Fold the heavy cream into the peanut butter mixture until incorporated. Pour the filling into the cooled crust and smooth the top with a spatula. Garnish the top of the pie with

Place pie, uncovered, in the freezer for at least 3 hours. Once set, pie can be moved to the fridge (still uncovered) until serving. Garnish the pie as desired, with a drizzle of melted chocolate, a ganache, or chopped peanuts.

I’m off in about 10 mins, pie in hand, eagerly awaiting to get my fill of totally unhealthy food. Safe to say I’ll be back on track tomorrow, but for now, after an excitingly English football match (and, let’s be real, the athletes are in such good shape that they basically cancel out any calories I consume on their behalf, right?) and what I’m sure will be an amazing dinner with Zach, Michael, and Jeremy to look forward to, I regret nothing.

Life’s too short to forego pie every once in a while, after all.

Even if we maaaay end up finishing it all tonight.

 

One thought on “frozen peanut butter pie

  1. This pie looks incredible; thanks for sharing. The pictures and directions look fairly easy to follow! Thanks for posting; will give it a shot for my next dinner party.
    -Shannon the Crumb Cake Queen

Leave a thought!

